Panathinaikos Volleyball

The women's volleyball department of the Association was founded in 1926 and is one of the most beloved departments of the "clover".  In 1946 PAO WVB participated in the Greek Main League championship. The coaches were Mike Stergiadis and Christos Svolopoulos and the games were playing at the stadium on Tsocha Street.


However, the success was not as expected and the most substantial effort to form a team took place in 1969.  It is noteworthy that Panathinaikos had a women's volleyball team a year before the creation of the Hellenic Volleyball Federation.


The first coach of the department was the volleyball player of the "clover" Andreas Bergeles and he was succeeded by Sava Grozdanovic. The Yugoslav coached the women's section while also being a coach in the men's section.  The successes came immediately and it is characteristic that the women won the Greek Main League championships in 1970 and in 1971.

PAO WVB has achieved huge successes and this can be seen from the titles and the high rankings. Besides, the worst position that the team has won in the league is the 5th and that is because at that time there was a radical renewal in the team.


In terms of the achievements of the team outside Greece, they are famous and from a very early age they showed their European character. Specifically the 1980-81 season in the Final Four of the Confederation Cup held in Munich.


The next big success came the 1994-95 season when the "green" came to the final four of Winners Cup in Munster and took 4th place. In the year 1999-2000 PAO WVB made history as they participated in the Winners' Cup in Perugia against the local team and despite the fact that they failed to lift the trophy, they wrote the name of the club in gold letters by representing PAO with class and competitive provese. The most recent success was the second place in the final four of the Triumph Cup (Challenge Cup) in the 2008-09 season in Gezi, Italy.


In 2008, an incredible series was completed by the women's volleyball department of Panathinaikos with 55 consecutive victories and 77 consecutive home victories!

However, the work done in the women's volleyball academies of Panathinaikos is also awesome and the club has won two Greek championships in 1991 and 2013 as well as three NSRF Junior Championships (1990, 1991 and 2013).

Finally, the PAO WVB have offered the maximum to the National Team of Greece and R. Pragaloudi, S. Angelaki, F. Malapetsa, K. Gialeniou and E. Sfyri were present in the huge success of winning the bronze medal in the Mediterranean Games. 1991.